The Great Journey in Photography

3 Things the iPad Needs

ipad on the desk

So I waited in line to get an iPad 3g last Friday and I have had a few days to play with it and I think it is a remarkable device. There are plenty of reviews and opinions about the iPad out there and I really don’t want to go into that too much instead I just want to mention three things that I need from the device. I think they can be easily done and I hope that somebody will scratch those itches in short order.

  1. Photo books are a nightmare. Please someone make it easy to make a photo style book and share it with the rest of the world. I have done some research into the epub format and it sucks in so many ways I can’t even begin to list them. epdf is not supported as far as I know. Developing in Keynote seems to be the best way to make a photo book at this time but it has problems too. No internal links, no non-editable presentations, and no good ways to distribute make it really tough not to mention is is device specific. What I am looking for is a way to assemble a book in Keynote, Indesign, Pages, or whatever, have it look great be somewhat interactive, and be able to export as a book that can be distributed through itunes either as an ibook or an app.
  2. Graphics tablet. I believe the iPad will make a great graphics tablet, either bluetooth or usb, to work on my other computers. My only concern would be if the glass became dull from constant use.
  3. Better syncing of apps. I have a few apps that I really like, my favorite being the iBird Pro app. They are capable of having lists, notes, and other personalized information. I have been using these apps on both my iPad and iPod Touch, they function the same but don’t share any info. As I understand it Apple sandbox’s all apps for security, but come on, I should be able to sync data in the same app between devices.

Great device, glad I have one. Someone address those three things and I will be a very happy camper.

Leave a Reply

