The Great Journey in Photography

Better BiF’s

Least Tern

Least Tern 300mm, 100iso, f4.8, 1/1250 sec

At least once a month I devote an entire day to improving my birds in flight photography. My last outing included a session with the Least Tern, a small, fast, and jerky bird. I learned a lot chasing those critters around. Today I will share a couple of tips that worked for me.

  1. Take lots and lots of photos. BiF’s are tough to get right and there will only be a few that you like so make sure you have plenty to choose from.
  2. Set your focus “lock-on” to long. I know others say to set it to short or off but the long mode works better for me. You might want to give it a try.
  3. Shutter speed. I have heard many times that a shutter of 1/1000 is good for BiF’s and I have shot that way for a long time, but a bump to the 1/1200-1/2000 range seems to have improved my images. This is shooting with out any VR.

Stay tuned and I will let you know what tips I pick up next time.

2 responses

  1. I was photographing this bird just last weekend. I haven’t posted them, yet. I’m still working to get some better shots. These are fantastic!

    June 30, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  2. @photo4all,
    Thanks for the kind words. This was at the Bolsa Chica Eco Preserve Huntington Beach CA. I noticed you are local in So Cal.

    June 30, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

