The Great Journey in Photography

Keeping the Crap

Sanderlings At Bolsa Chica

300mm f4 320iso 1/1250sec

When I took this photo I was in awe of these Sanderlings in flight. Not only did they fly in near perfect unison the turning on a dime curves revealed both sides of the birds, from dark brown to bright white in a split second. It is really cool to see in person but as it turns out not so easy to photograph. First, you have to decide wether to expose for dark brown or white and then shoot when the birds are in proper position not to mention they are pretty fast. You also need to get shots when there aren’t any stragglers that are out of position because the over/under exposure will stand out like a sore thumb. I was excited to see the performance, I was excited to photograph it too, but when I downloaded and processed the images I wasn’t so excited. Somehow they just didn’t translate onto the digital negative. Don’t get me wrong they were OK but just not as good as I hoped for. I tried to clean them up and even some faux blurring but still to me they were just ok and in the computer they sat.

The other day I started reading “Captured” by the famous Moose Peterson. As much as I have read has been very good. Moose writes about his early years and getting started in the business and in the first few pages there is an image of Sanderlings in flight. The picture was actually very much like mine. Some how it was very comforting to see that some one else had shared my experience and perspective by taking such a similar photograph. In my imagination I can see the Moose having the same reaction to the spectacle as did I and getting all excited trying to capture it in perfect form. Of course this all led me to revisit that series of images and see them in a new light. They are a tad better than ok now and it makes me glad that I did not delete them.

You can see more of my pictures here.

4 responses

  1. I love your work it’s stunning…Simply stunning.

    August 5, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  2. Thank You for the kind words!

    August 5, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  3. it was greatly riveting to look over your blog, I want to reproduce your post in my blog. It can ? And you et an account on Twitter?
    Nikon Camera Reviews

    August 23, 2011 at 4:20 am

Leave a Reply

