The Great Journey in Photography

Moby Dick Didn’t End Well

Double Crested Cormorant

420mm f4 400iso 1/2000sec

I am eternally gratefull that I was not deluged at the end of the year with the usual new media posts. You know all the “Best of, Top 10, Most influential, Biggest dissapointments,” and so on. Somehow I avoided most of that stuff. I do have to say that I made through all of 2011 without getting one pleasing image of a Double Crested Cormorant. The same as last year and the year before that. In fact, I have never made a picture of this bird that made me giggle like a little school girl.

They are not that easy to photograph with detail I will say, dark brown to the point of being almost black with some yellow and green eyes. They tend to be shy of humans. Most of the time I am shooting birds that have a significant amount of white. With the camera set up to capture those images it is almost impossible to get a well exposed Cormorant on the fly. There have been days when they were my main goal too, proper settings and plenty of them to shoot, I see them all the time. I tried just about every approach I can think of, Good Guy, Tough Love, Wise Mentor, Good Cop/Bad Cop, and what do I have to show for it?
BUBKISS!
They are my great white whale. It has got to the point that these guys are living rent free in my head. Every time I see one I spend so much time double checking my settings that the moment has passed. I completly fall to pieces.

2012 is going to be different. I have about 360 days to make a pleasing image. 349 if you believe the Myans. I promise myself and today I make this proclamation: To the entire Cormorant community-Choose your best representitive because this year you are going down.
When you are hanging out on the cliffs at La Jolla-I will be there.
When you are sunning in the dead tree in the midle of the pond at Bolsa Chica-I will be there.
When you pop up out of the water hiding behind a pelican- I will be there.
I have about 360 days to make a pleasing image. 349 if you believe the Myans. Argh matey! Trim the sails it’s going to be a long voyage!

Thanks for reading everyone and a tip of the hat to you for getting through this one!

You can see some of the images that did make me giggle like a little school girl here.

One response

  1. Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last couple of posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just just a little out of track! come on!

    January 29, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

