The Great Journey in Photography

Moose Fodder

Sandhill Cranes in the distance

A few days ago Moose Peterson wrote about composition and how hard and frankly how important it is to make an image where the subject is very small in the frame. He made a great commentary along with a stunning photo. You can read that post here.

I, like many are one of those people who is usually trying to get as close as possible to my subject. It is not that easy, carrying long heavy lenses, learning good technique, and lots and lots of practice are the soup du jour. It is something that I prefer and yes it is the challenge that makes it most exciting. To answer the Moose question of why I would make an image that way I have to say it is a threefold answer. First, I like that style the most. amazing detail, color and blurred out back grounds are a showcase for great technique and top-level gear. Second, I am a suburban shooter and ugly and distracting backgrounds are a fact of life. You kind of have to go for what you know and it is really tough to make the composition when you can’t practice it. I think that many of us go for the “eyeballshot” simply because we can do it on a regular basis. Third, and I know I am repeating myself a bit, but that is what I like the most. A well done avian portrait or head shot is awesome to me.

But, as it turns out the Moose is also quite right. I had a really hard time selecting a picture to put with this post because I didn’t have many (any?) of those great composition, story telling images that Moose loves so much. I bet that many people are in the same boat as me too. I have to add that those opportunities just don’t come by that often and quite honestly when I can make those things happen I am most likely searching for something else. It is more difficult to make that kind of image. I am not sure that I am willing to say that one is more attractive than the other though, and I will mention that when I was at Bosque Del Apache last year I found myself pulling back more in an attempt to get the surrounding scenery, to tell a better story, and that is a good thing.

Something I do know, is that it is all pretty hard but with practice, patience, and a bit of luck any of us can make great images whether they be “eyeballs” or landscaped wildlife.

You can see more of my “eyeball” shots here.

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

