The Great Journey in Photography

The Perils of Ahab

Brandt's Cormorant at La Jolla Cove

420mm f7.1 200iso 1/640sec

As promised I have been trying to catch up with the Cormorants. These are two of my better images I have made this year. I like both of them but they are not all that great. So what is it, you may ask, that I like and don’t like about these images? First, the juvenile Brandt’s above is a fun picture because the colors are consistent and the background is pleasing although I would be tempted to clone out those two dark patches. The subject is doing something in that it is extending its wings, and the head is in a nice profile. The picture also displays in detail the shape and function of the feet wich I think is important at times. The big flaw? The sun is to the right instead of at my back resulting in some pretty deep shadows under the wing. Total deal breaker for my 4 star consideration.

Double Crested Cormorant at La Jolla Cove

420mm f9 200iso 1/320sec

The Double Crested above is another one that I like. I like it for pretty much the same reasons as the other, but this time the sun is at a better angle. It also highlights the features of a breeding bird with the blue mouth and the white crest. The bad part? I just was not as close as I would like to be. Zoom in and the detail just is not as crisp as I would like it to be and I doubt it would make a good print. Deal breaker number two.

Ever know someone who treats you like crap and then wonders why you don’t like them? Sometimes it is ok to hate. Go look at some of my pictures at www.ronboyddesign.com and you will feel better. 

One response

  1. Awww….just soooo cute !!!

    March 16, 2012 at 7:10 am

Leave a Reply

