The Great Journey in Photography

Forty Days and Forty Nights

Brown Pelican art %22Ruby has Wings%22

After three fantastic months of shooting birds I fell into a drought. Forty days of bad weather and worse shots. I have to blame myself for the most part. Who really wants to go out when it is cold and raining and who really wants to carry their heavy and expensive prime gear under such circumstances? It is easy to fall into an unproductive rut. That will all come to an end at some point, but I often wonder what I can do to stay eager and motivated to make great bird photos. As I look at things though, a big part of the reason why I got into the rut in the first place is because I have a lot of other related projects going on and there is just not a lot of time to get everything done. Here is one of those projects that has finally become a reality.

All last Summer I followed and photographed a pair of mature Pelicans who decided to stay in Southern California instead of heading out of town for the the breeding months and Summer that follows. I named them Ruby and Edgar. It was a little unusual for them to stay around but it was very unusual for me to encounter them each and every time I went to the reserve they call home. I was able to get some remarkable photos of them along with Least, Forrester’s Terns and an immature Brown that dropped in from time to time. I took some of those images and applied a rather unique processing to make some canvas prints that I think are different and beautiful. All done within Photoshop and using only one third party filter (Nik Tonal Contrast) then printed on canvas, the process takes a lot of time as it essential becomes a digitally hand painted piece of art. I plan to make a tutorial of how the process is done at some future point, but for now I don’t want to think about how the sasuage is made but rather what the results are. The image above is one of my favorites titled “Ruby Has Wings”.

I think it is self defeating task to try to sell pictures to other photographers so I am really not expecting much when I say that the series is now available for sale but hey, if you want to buy one drop me aline or mention it to someone who might.

Thanks for reading. You can get more details about Ruby and see more of the Shore Line Series here.

Leave a Reply

