The Great Journey in Photography

Cutting the Crud

duck on the water at Bolsa chica

420mm f8 500iso 1/1,200sec

Things have changed a lot in the last few years. Every once in a while I happen to see a network or cable news story and the first thing that always comes to mind is “I wonder if that is true?”. It is a scathing indictment of those who hold themselves with such high regard but it appears that facts have become a casualty in the “news” wars.  The reality is your local grocery store clerk probably stands on higher moral ground than any traditional news program. Fortunately there are plenty of other outlets to view, most of them internet based. The truth is out there but you have to work to find it. Millions of people across the globe have turned off traditional media in favor of alternatives. The emerging market of delivering information through alternative media takes many shapes and methods but almost always is more convenient and will often drill down to the whole truth. I find it interesting to see the titans of media struggle with the Internets unveiling of the man behind the curtain at the network “news”. Perhaps the titans goal should be to deliver information rather than pointing us in the “right” direction they might have more loyal and engaged viewers.

But finding the truth is time-consuming. Sorting through all the fluff and debris takes a long time and as the information age becomes even more vast I find myself spending many hours searching for the information I need. just like the search for truth the ongoing education in photography can also be a long affair. My time has become very valuable to me and that brings me to the whole point of this post.

I like to say-“to become accomplished at something you actually have to do it.” Not the best of grammar I am sure but I think you get the point. Photography has become a very successful niche in the internet. In fact it is the only creditable outlet for photography related content. There are tons of resources for us to consume. Point yourself in any direction you want and gobble up all the tutorials, images, forums, conversations, and advertisements you can. A lifetimes worth last I checked. One other thing about the internet, it tends to be an indoor activity and that can get in the way of becoming accomplished. Like many things, profession or hobby, photography is constantly changing and it should be viewed as a continuing education just to keep up. Internet media is essential for that, but it is easy to get caught up in all that and neglect going out and practicing. It was not that long ago that I was consuming information as fast as possible then I decided to prioritize my life. I realized that my time is very important, nay extremely valuable, to me and in the end I could only allocate about 3 hours of audio related to photography and no video per week. If I had extra time perhaps I could do more but by the numbers there was no more time. I stick to that schedule, don’t get me wrong, there are times when I get to sit down and watch a video podcast or the such just not on a regular basis, and I have my “in rotation” favorites. They are the most valuable shows to me and I always listen to them but it is only a few hours a week, and that is my truth. It is carefully selected and it works for me.

So my advice for the day, consider your time very valuable, make sure you make plenty of time to “do” rather than “view”, and choose what works not what others try to sell you.

Thanks so much for reading. July was the best month ever for the blog and I appreciate all of you stopping by to read what I am doing.–Ron

2 responses

  1. Well said, Ron. I couldn’t agree more. Time is precious and finding the right balance of “viewing and doing” is a constant challenge. I actually lost 7 followers on my blog because I stopped posting for a few weeks. I guess if you snooze you lose. The bright side is that I did take a lot of photos during that time and now have some new material that I can share….and hopefully regain what I lost. Keep up the great work. – Rob

    August 10, 2012 at 10:18 am

  2. Excellent post. Very helpful. Thanks for the info.

    September 7, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

