The Great Journey in Photography

Fakity, Fake, Fake

Sandhill at Bosque Del Apache 2011

700mm f5.6 640iso 1/3200sec

The other day I was invited to a “photo competition”. Funny thing was that it really was not in any way a competition. Today I want to take a moment to explain and caution photographers about”competitions” that are in no way connected to the quality of the entries. This is actually a pretty common occurrence. For me it was a vote via social media thing that was nothing more than a popularity contest. Simply said, the photograph submitted by the most followers always has the advantage and for the most part is locked in for victory. I don’t have any objection to running contests in such a manner as long as everyone is understanding that the winner and losers didn’t get that way because of the quality of the images. As a serious photographer I would never actively enter any such event and I think all good photographers should avoid them because they are promoting a fake competition. As for the folks who dream up social media contests, well you are doomed to having less than the best and really show that you are most interested in bringing more traffic to your brand. Kind of selfish really.

You may be wondering how I handled the invite? After I read the rules, which were rather vague in the first place, I did send in a photo. It was not my best work by any means and I made almost no effort to promote the contest within my social sphere but it was from an organization that I know and I would have (and have in the past) gladly donated an image to them. Things are never as clear-cut as we would like them to be but the important thing to know is that often photography contests are not a measure of your abilities and you probably should not consider your ranking in a contest anything more than ones ability to hustle up votes. Here in America we call that politics and everyone loves a politician. Right?

Thanks for stopping by everyone. If you made it all the way down to this line once again you are in the running for “Best Person on the Planet”. I hope you get lots of votes.

One response

  1. Unfortunately, WordPress has only one “like” button. If there were ten of them, I’d click them all for this post of yours. Bravo.

    September 27, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

