The Great Journey in Photography

Epic Fail

Crowned Sparrow on a wire

The plan this week was to have some video and a few stills of Brown Pelican antics that were made with the GoPro Hero 3 camera. I needed to test out the camera for another project I am working on so I figured I would try out some wide-angle video for birds. I had a good plan I knew where I wanted to mount the camera. one static spot on a rock near the waterline where Browns routinely dive for fish and also mounted atop the 300mm f2.8. I had scheduled 3 sessions figuring one of them would wash out leaving 2 good attempts to get some footage. One of the big attractions of the Hero 3 is the applications available for the iOS devices that allow you to control the camera remotely. The first morning I set the Hero 3 up in my backyard the first thing I noticed was there was a very long delay in the video to the iPad, I also saw that it indicated a low battery after I had just charged it. A short time later the camera was dead. After charging it and checking the battery it was non responsive. Checking online there seems to be a number of complaints with the same issue. I tried a couple of “tricks” to get it working but no luck. Sorry Go Pro you are a No Go, I will be looking for other solutions in my project.

Plan 2.
I have some old gear I need to sell to help finance the new years planed expenses and what can sell photo gear better than some nice photos made with said gear, plus I wanted to make sure everything was in good working condition. Even my newest gear is old and that is why I am selling off a bunch of it. To get better equipment. It is painful using the oldest stuff, cameras and lenses I once thought to be really good no longer cut the mustard and results are frustrating. I wonder about the photo above. It is not an image that I consider to be good. The day I made that picture I had numerous beautiful scenes to set up upon and I did and I waited and waited and not a single time did a bird come into view. my best shot was this little sparrow on a wire. Bird on a wire is not a classy scene in high-end bird photography and I kind of wonder why. Is it because it is supposed to be easier to make or is it supposed to be ugly? Honestly, I find neither to be true. I actually like a bird perched on a nice rusty piece of barbed wire, it highlights the whole foot area of the bird which can be complex. Anyhow this image is not great quality either, too much contrast even though the light was pretty good.
Not a great way to close out 2013, “epic fail” as the kids would say.

Thanks for stopping by everyone, I really appreciate having a chance to share my thoughts and images with you and 2014 is going to be a great year. “Epic Not Fail” right?… “Epic Fail-Not”? Whatever!

 

Leave a Reply

