The Great Journey in Photography

One Beautiful Duck

One Pretty Duck Picture

300mm f2.8 320iso 1/640sec

Some times I get caught up in the whole “I got to get there” thing and on my missions to make it to places that are on the bucket list, target rich, or just great shooting. I forget about stuff that is just a stones throw away. I remember a few years ago the price of gasoline had spiked to the point that I could not travel to those places I dearly love to be. I did a little exercise then, for a month I only photographed in places that were in walking distance. I normally walk 3-5 miles per day so it was not like I was limited to my backyard. I learned a lot that month about finding good places and good shots. With that experience in mind it was not too much of a chore to wander over to a local duck pond.

It was a truly crappy day, clouds were threatening rain and overall it was very dark. On the plus side, I could shoot all day. Nature’s soft box was in full effect and although there was little of it the light was very even. At times the clouds would thin out and it would brighten up a bunch. I didn’t bother bringing a bag and I was a bit taken back when I grabbed the camera and noticed that my 1.4x teleconverter was not attached. It pretty much lived on the 300mm lens but today it was gone. Given the circumstances it took me all of about 5 seconds to get over it and get excited about shooting at f2.8, a task impossible with he TC attached. Opening up that last stop of light really makes a difference not only with boosting shutter speed but also presenting a razor-thin depth of field and an outrageously creamy bokeh. Ducks should get close enough, I was not feeding them at all. I made some really beautiful images this week including the one you see above.

A couple of tips for shooting waterfowl on a stormy day. To get nice colors and reflections that you want to be sure to shoot in areas that are in complete shade. This will eliminate the gray of the clouds reflecting out of the water. You can see in the picture the ripple in front of the mallard is at an angle where it is reflecting the light from the clouds above. It makes a nice accent but big patches of the reflections can turn ugly especially if the water is calm. Shooting in complete shade will however bring shutter speeds way down. Down to an alarming speed but to compensate for that you are well served to shoot in short bursts of about 3 images. Waterfowl can be deceivingly fast when they are trying to get somewhere but also tend to linger around given the chance so choose your subject wisely and a slower shutter speed will work. If that is not enough of a reason for shooting in bursts you will also inevitably lose your desired focus with a super shallow DOF no matter how hard you try. Being able to choose from a series of images will give you the likelihood that one of this images has the focus you need.

Well gang, thanks for stopping by and until next week, happy shooting!

Please remember you can always follow me on Twitter or subscribe to the blog and get every post when it happens.

One response

  1. Great shot and thanks for the tips!

    February 7, 2014 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

