The Great Journey in Photography

Call to the Wild

Brown Pelican Checking under the hood

300mm f4.5 250iso 1/1,250sec

The other day I was playing around with bird song sounds. For the most part I am not in favor of using manufactured sounds to change the behavior of the animals but I have been curious. It is easy enough to do. The iPad app iBird Pro has call sounds for every bird listed that can be played in a continuous loop. The goal of playing the sounds is to attract birds of the same species by either sending a mating call or some other call that will peak their curiosity. I had a slightly different strategy. I wanted to attract birds that I rarely see, birds that I know are out there in very small numbers. I didn’t get any of those birds to show but it modified the behavior of all the other birds in ways that I never would have thought of. The common birds like sparrows and finches actually gave me the perfect opportunity to photograph them. The stopped eating and hopped up to the strategic branches and just looked around, more birds available to photograph at one time than I have ever seen. Oddly enough, when I did play sparrow and finch song it had little effect.

One response

  1. Great colourful image!

    June 13, 2014 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

